About us

Wivey Action on Climate & Environment was set-up in October 2014 by Dave Mansell, Jane Ruell and others. Our group covers Wiveliscombe and the 10 Parishes area, with those living in other areas also welcome to join our mailing list.

In July 2016, we joined The Climate Coalition – the UK’s largest group of people dedicated to action on climate change and limiting its impact on the world’s poorest communities.

We have a constitution and a committee to organise group activities. Members are welcome to attend committee meetings and contribute. There is an annual general meeting held in the autumn when the committee are elected.

Our group was first called Wivey Action on Climate. In 2017, the committee proposed extended the group’s remit to include protection of the human and natural environment, while retaining a primary focus on climate change. This was approved by members at the 2017 AGM, when it was also decided to change the group’s name to Wivey Action on Climate & Environment and to make corresponding amendments to our constitution.

Our aims are:

a)  To raise awareness of climate change, the contribution of human carbon emissions and their effects on the life of our community;

b)  To raise awareness of threats to the human and natural environment;

c)  To positively engage and work with local people, businesses and community organisations in the Wiveliscombe area on climate change and environmental problems;

d)  To promote and support low carbon and sustainable living and working in the Wiveliscombe area;

e)  To campaign and manage projects for sustainable solutions to climate change and environmental problems, which improve human well-being and protect the natural world.

f)  To support campaigns and projects promoted by regional and national groups with similar aims, such as The Climate Coalition, Centre for Alternative Technology, Centre for Sustainable Energy, Forum for the Future, Friends of the Earth, Greenpeace, Hubbub, Transition Network, WRAP and WWF.


It is free to join Wivey Action on Climate & Environment – complete and submit our online membership form.

Administrative Committee (nominated at special meeting on 8 July 2019)

Paul Calvert
Kim Cavanagh
Sue Green
Sue Hannam
Geoff Johnson
Stuart Lloyd
Helen Rook

A community group wanting to lower carbon levels and look after our planet.

%d bloggers like this: